Close Menu

Professional Master's of Health Physics Board of Advisors

Steven Bakhtiar, Ph.D. Dr. Bakhtiar is an expert in radiochemistry, specializing in actinides. He received his Ph.D. in nuclear radiochemistry from University of Arkansas. Dr. Bakhtiar's experience ranges from laboratory operations, quality assurance, assessments, training, science education, actinide chemistry, radiological control, and waste management. He is a member of the National Health Physics Society, Waste Education Research Consortium (WERC), International Radiological Science Application, Academy of Certified Hazardous Material Management, Institute of Nuclear Materials Management, and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Analytical Managers. Dr. Bakhtiar has served in many capacities at the DOE including his current position as Director of the New Brunswick Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois.

Robert Jones, Ph.D., is the chief of the Inorganic and Radiation Analytical Toxicology branch at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Here, he in charge of planning, implantation, oversight, and completion of programs related to public health that involve non-radioactive and radioactive elements and their isotopes. These programs help enable the CDC to assess and monitor the exposure of populations to toxic and radioactive element exposures. Jones is also overseeing the development of a variety of radionuclide bioassay methods for emergency and terrorism preparedness and response. He is involved with many long-term local, national, or international public health studies, had 106 publications, and has presented more than 60 national or international invited talked or workshops. Jones is co-chair of multiple workgroups in the DHS Integrated Consortium of Laboratory Networks (ICLN). 

Susan Langhorst, Ph.D., CHP. Dr. Langhorst received her B.S. in nuclear engineering from University of Missouri-Rolla, and her M.S. and Ph.D. in nuclear engineering-health physics from University of Missouri-Columbia. Dr. Langhorst is currently the Radiation Safety Officer at Washington University in St. Louis and is a faculty member at the Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology. Dr. Langhorst is certified by the American Board of Health Physics; she is a Council Member of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP); and she currently serves as the Radiation Safety Officer Representative on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Medical Uses of Isotopes.

Ruth McBurney, CHP. Ms. McBurney is currently the Executive Director of the Conference of Radiation Control Program Directors, a position she has held since 2007. Prior to that, she was the Manager of the Radiation Safety Licensing Branch of the Texas Radiation Control Program. Ms. McBurney has served on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on the Medical Use of Isotopes and the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's National Mammography Quality Assurance Advisory Committee. She is currently a member of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP), and also serves on the NCRP Board of Directors. Ms. McBurney holds a B.S. degree in biology from Henderson State University in Arkansas and an M.S. degree in radiation sciences from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences. She is also certified in comprehensive health physics by the American Board of Health Physics.

Matthew Moeller, CHP. Mr. Moeller is CEO of Dade Moeller. He co-founded Dade Moeller & Associates in 1994. Under his leadership, Mr. Moeller helps establish Dade Moeller as a leader in the fields of environmental health and radiation protection. A Certified Health Physicist, Matt earned his master's degree in environmental health sciences from Harvard University and his bachelor's degree in mathematics from Cornell University. He has more than 35 years of experience as a safety professional, supporting several federal agencies in the areas of environmental protection, radiation safety, industrial hygiene, risk assessment, and emergency preparedness. Mr. Moeller serves on several corporate, charitable, and professional boards and committees, providing contributions benefiting from his business and technical experience.

Chris Passmore, CHP, is Vice President of Dosimetry Services at Landauer. Mr. Passmore has directed Landauer’s technical and operations activities relating to radiation dosimetry, since joining the Company in 2000. From 2004 – 2007, he was the Director of Operations and managed Landauer’s manufacturing and analytical laboratory activities. As the Vice President of Technical Services from 2007 to 2013, Mr. Passmore, led scientific research, dosimetry sciences, applied technology, quality, technical support teams, and analytical laboratory operations. Prior to arriving at Landauer, Mr. Passmore worked in the Department of Energy nuclear weapons complex for 10 years were he led external dosimetry, internal dosimetry, field characterization studies, radiation measurements, radiochemistry, and radiological engineering sections. Mr. Passmore is an internationally known expert in radiation monitoring, radiation field characterization, and dosimetry accreditation. He serves as a United States delegate and technical expert to the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) TC45 and International Organization for Standardization (ISO) TC85.

Vivian S. Sullivan, Ph.D., PMP, is senior staff assistant to the chief research officer at Argonne National Laboratory. Here, she provides support to the deputy laboratory director for programs and leads projects including an overhaul of the university joint appointment process. Prior to this, she was manager of the Analytical Chemistry Laboratory (ACL) in the Nuclear Engineering Division at Argonne National Laboratory.  In this role, she was responsible for managing a $1.7 million per year service center and developing and implementing an overarching strategic plan for operations and business management of the ACL. She received her Ph.D. in physical chemistry from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Richard Vetter, Ph.D., CHP. Dr. Vetter is Professor Emeritus and former Radiation Safety Officer for the Mayo Clinic. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees in biology from South Dakota State University, and Ph.D. in health physics at Purdue University. He is board certified by the American Board of Health Physics and the American Board of Medical Physics. Prior to joining the staff at Mayo Clinic in 1980 he was Professor of Health Physics at Purdue University. Dr. Vetter is past Editor-in-Chief of the journal Health Physics, past President of the Health Physics Society, and past President of the American Academy of Health Physics. Dr. Vetter is a member of the National Academies Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board and a Distinguished Emeritus Member of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements. He served as Vice Chair of the NRC Advisory Committee for Medical Uses of Isotopes and was a member of the Radiation Advisory Committee of the EPA Science Advisory Board.